Skip to content

Unity Linux going 64 bit!

August 5, 2009

So, I purchase a brand new build box last week and I am finally be able to build x86-64 rpm binaries. It has been a slow start getting a 64 bit OS (mdv2009.1 from boot.iso) installed and then a chroot jail build environment setup where I can build and install rpm5, mezzanine and caos-builder.

I am finally coming around on my third pass through the svn repo and over half of the packages are now successfully built. I will probably let the autobuilder make one more pass through the svn repo before I kill it and try to reconstitute a native Unity-Linux chroot jail environment and start over on rebuilding the packages cleanly without old Mandriva build dependencies.

Needless to say, the autobuilder (caos-builder) for unity linux is now working and can be applied in the future to build both 32bit and 64bit unity-linux rpms.

2 Comments
  1. August 5, 2009 9:02 pm

    Whoa, that’s cool. I didn’t think we’d be ready to take these baby steps for a long long time.

    Next stop: ARM support? 😉

  2. gettinther permalink
    August 14, 2009 10:01 am

    Hi Matt,

    Nice to see you blogging a bit for a change 😀

    gett.

Comments are closed.

